Not A Princess (Part 3)


Not A Princess 3Read Part 1.

Read Part 2.

Not A Princess (3)

I sit at the beach behind my favorite building with the green copper roof that looks like a castle
with a dead dream of being a princess.
Because princesses aren’t happy either and die in the end.

While their sons marry duchesses
who then sit in a castle on their money
chained to their manners and bound to their titles
and they can’t buy themselves happiness either
because happiness is NOT FOR SALE.

Because we’re not here to be happy
And we’re not here to be free.
But we’re thrown into this world to make the best of what we got.

So I look out on the ocean in my old tank top
with my hair tied into a pony tail
with my make up long gone after a busy day
with my lost dream of being a princess.
And I will go back to my old two bedroom apartment
that I share with a room mate in order to afford it at all
just past my favorite old building with the green copper roof that looks like a castle
to see my little prince
that I get to take back to the ocean where he can run and play
and get as dirty as he wants to
because he doesn’t have to marry a duchess when he’s grown up
And he won’t live in my favorite old building
with the green copper roof

That only LOOKS like a castle.

He gets to sit with me and watch the reality
of the vast ocean with the bright stars
that show us the way to freedom.

We’re not princes and princesses
But at lease we know that
And don’t try to pretend to be someone we’ll never be
in our pretend castles with our pretend horses that are really just horse-powered machines
bought on credit
that take us no place other than work
so we can labor all day
to pay for those fake horses and those fake castles
And we forget about the ocean and the stars that are completely free.

I sit by the ocean and look out into eternity
my fake horse is old and scratched up
and my fake castle is just an old 2 bedroom apartment.
But my fake prince will always be my son
and I’ll always have time to look out on the ocean with him.

My home is not my castle, it’s just my home.
And I am not a princess.
Thank goodness.

– The Beginning –

2 thoughts on “Not A Princess (Part 3)

I love hearing from you - Please share your thoughts!

