Not A Princess (Part 2)


Not a PrincessRead Part 1.

Not A Princess (2)

I look out the window and I see the green copper roof of the old building I love
And I know I’ll never live there
because it looks like a castle and I am not a princess.
And I am not fit for a queen.

But behind the old building with the green copper roof that looks like a castle
is the ocean filled with lights when it’s dark at night
Filled with twinkling colorful lights
that stare over the vast eternity of the dark blue water
that waits patiently under a star-filled sky
that looks down on me with its majestic beauty
telling me it’s always going to be there.

And I can have the sky
And I can have the stars
And I can have the ocean
And I can have the lights on the ocean
And I can see them whenever I want to
And no one looks at me or takes my picture
or writes about my sad face or my messy hair or my old tank top.

And while princesses sit in their castles
and are chained to their manners
and bound to their title
and have all the money in the world that can’t buy them happiness either
I sit and look beyond the building
with the green copper roof that looks like a castle
with the rich people inside that aren’t princesses either
with the big cars in the garage that cost them half a year’s salary
and are still only good for taking them back to work

Where they labor all day and night
to come home exhausted to their small apartment
in my favorite building with the green copper roof
that looks like a castle but isn’t a castle
and only has small apartments inside
for people who think they might be princes one day and haven’t gown up yet
and live in their overpriced one bedroom apartments
in the building with the green copper roof that only LOOKS like a castle.

And they can’t enjoy the vast ocean that’s right in their backyard
because all they do is work
to pay off their pretend carriage in the garage that doesn’t even have horses
but only a thing they named horsepower
so that people like the ones in the pretty building with the green copper roof that looks like a castle
could pretend to be princes and have something with the word “horse” in it.

And there they sit on their high horse… powered car they bought on credit
In their fancy apartment they’re never in because they’re only at work in the big city
in their Armani suits with their Rolex watches at their big Mahogany desks
than can’t buy them happiness either
just to pay for the little wonders that really aren’t wonders and that aren’t even real.

To be continued…

2 thoughts on “Not A Princess (Part 2)

  1. Pingback: Not A Princess (Part 3) | The Weekend Mom

I love hearing from you - Please share your thoughts!

