The Most Important Man in My Life (To Raise Me Up)


After all the shallowness we’ve been wading through ever since the whole Abercrombie and Fitch thing came back up a few days ago, it’s been amazing (and really relieving) seeing all the support pouring in from all over the country to the “non-A&F-worthy.” It has been so moving to me how much (inter)national support people are getting in recent times who are beautiful because they’re beautiful on the inside, regardless of their outside. We’re putting an end to bullying, and now we’re putting an end to arrogant people. Awesome, because I despise both.

Being Bullied
I had to grow up being bullied. It started in 6th grade and got progressively worse and never ended until I graduated high school. And unfortunately, there was no awareness of this huge problem when I was in school. To make matters worse, the girl who used to be my best friend started the bullying against me and succeeded in getting my whole class, the class above me, and even some of the teachers (yes!) to bully me and be condescending.

Being Punished For Being Myself
To this day I am trying to figure out what I did wrong. After reading a few books, one taught me to go back to the people that were in my life at the time I was bullied and are still in my life now. It said to ask them about their perspective and what they could see. So I did ask. And one of my oldest friends (since we were about 5 years old) said that she thinks it was because I just did my thing. I was not a lemming, I never did anything just because everybody else was doing it. I knew what I wanted and what I wanted to do, so that’s what I did.

Being A Role Model
Today, we call that integrity. Stamina. Having a backbone. Being courageous, determined, independent. Back then, it just wasn’t cool. And I didn’t care. I see a lot of myself in my son today. Apart from a bunch of other characteristics, Christopher does what he wants to do, has a very strong sense of right and wrong and justice, always wants to help those he perceives as weak, and basically doesn’t bend to popular opinion when he doesn’t want to jump on the bandwagon. And he is just 7 years old. I love him for that. I am worried about the consequences – but with so much attention against anti-bullying these days, I sleep much better.

Being A Follower After All
Back when I was young, I took refuge in the Lord. That’s when I found Christ. So in a way, I was thankful it all happened, because I don’t know if I would have felt the desire or need to find justice and meaning somewhere else. And I had a group of friends at church I could rely on, who raised me up when I needed raising.

Being The Best Mom I Can Be… To The Best Son Ever
Today, these friends are still my friends, but they are far away. Today, it is my son who does it for them. I am not being bullied; I kissed my bullies good-bye. But I certainly don’t have an easy life. My son is the one who keeps me going. Who makes me want to be a better person. Who encourages me, gives me hugs and kisses and doesn’t just TELL me that he loves me, but he SHOWS me. He is the number one person in my life who raises me up. Whenever I am overwhelmed and don’t want to keep going, ready to lay down and give up, he raises me up. Not literally, but because of him, I keep going strong. He raises me up. Hugs and kisses to my baby. This is for him.

 

This Is For My Son. 🙂

2 thoughts on “The Most Important Man in My Life (To Raise Me Up)

I love hearing from you - Please share your thoughts!

