Running Thoughts


My alarm went off this morning, way too early of course, as always. And my first thought was: “Oh no, I have to go running.” So then I spend another 10 minutes in bed reading through my email and my Facebook messages. And then I spent another 5 minutes trying to come up with an excuse of why I couldn’t go work out.

Excuses, Excuses… Where Are You?
When I couldn’t find an excuse, I made myself get up and trotted to the bathroom, still looking for an excuse why I should get in the shower immediately instead of putting on my workout clothes. Was it way too windy to go outside? Absolutely not. Was I sore? Not really. Was I hurt? No. Was I sick? Let me check… no, not sick either. Was my hair too nasty to take out into public? No, the one morning I wake up and my hair actually looks fine. No excuses, not even bad hair day.

Move it, Girl!
So I put on my workout gear, made myself a quick bowl of cereal (because I can’t work out on an empty stomach) and then schlepped myself to the door, putting the house key into my pocket. I zipped up my hoodie and walked toward the beach. Now let it be said that I live literally 2 houses and crossing 1 street away from the beach. I can see the ocean from my kitchen window. It is right there. So I cross the street, I cross the parking lot by the beach and I am on the walking trail that goes straight through the sand along the waterfront.

The Moment The World Stood Still – Just For Me
And as I started walking, I realized how peaceful the beach is in the early morning. I could see the footprints of a bird in the freshly flattened sand that otherwise only showed the light ripples of the wind. I could hear the waves crashing as the sun shone down on my from a clear blue sky. A light breeze stroked my hair. It was so quiet, I could hear my footsteps on the asphalt as I was swiftly walking forward. There was only me, the occasional jogger, and nature.

And it just hit me that I would have never be able to enjoy the beauty of this morning, this wonderful beginning of a new, fresh day, had I not forced myself to get up and put on my running shoes. As I was walking, I couldn’t think of any better way to start my day.

The Most Romantic Picture
It was so quiet, the seagulls weren’t even up yet. No “mine mine”, so swarming of birds. A couple of homeless people were sitting by the pier. Even they just woke up. And while under any other circumstance I would have started worrying about them, in this moment, I almost envied them because they were able to wake up to this peaceful beautiful morning EVERY morning. I realize that my head romanticized it that very instance; I realize there’s no warm comfortable bed under that pier by the ocean. But right there and then, I just couldn’t think of a better place to be.

On Top Of The World
As I kept walking, I started spreading out my arms to welcome the new day. To thank God for giving me such beauty. For making this morning just for me to enjoy. When I got to the top of the stairs I climb by the bluffs, I looked over the ocean and the beach. I looked out onto Long Beach Harbor, the Queen Mary, the oil islands. It felt like I was standing on top of it all. And when I walked back toward home, running and all, I had a smile on my face. What a beautiful beginning to a day.

Tomorrow, I hope to wake up excited to go running. Excited to have another most beautiful and elating start to another day at the office. This morning workout made all the difference in the world. I am so happy I couldn’t find an excuse not to go. I hope I’ll never have to look for an excuse again!

 

9 thoughts on “Running Thoughts

  1. Good for you! I have such a hard time getting up earlier to workout that I pretty much gave it up altogether and choose to workout later instead. You are right though, the beauty and peaceful solitude in the morning makes it all worth it. I think I’ll give it a try again 🙂

    • Aw! So happy I could motivate you. It really is beautiful. Getting up this morning was so much easier. Even though I should say to be fair that I am allowed to come in to work later so I can do this, so I don’t get up before the sun does. 🙂 You should join my challenge! I might keep it up for another month after this one and accountability makes working out so much easier!

  2. That’s great encouragement Anne, I’m going to use this in a link roundup for my site. I’ve learned, over the years, that not every run is as lovely as the one you described but I’m never sorry I went. I’ve learned not to argue with myself and just do it.

  3. You so make me miss the ocean…that will be my excuse…if I still lived on the beach I would run everyday!

  4. Pingback: The Weekend Mom

  5. Pingback: My First Blog Award! | The Weekend Mom

I love hearing from you - Please share your thoughts!

